Principal Investigator

Konrad Rykaczewski

Konrad Rykaczewski is an assistant professor at School for Engineering of Matter, Transport and Energy at ASU. He received his BS (2005), MS (2007) and PhD (2009) in mechanical engineering from the Georgia Institute of Technology under supervision of Prof. Andrei Fedorov. Prior to his appointment at ASU, he was a research scientist at MIT working with Prof. Kripa Vanarasi’s group and NRC postdoctoral fellow at NIST. His current research interests include fundamental studies of nano/microscale thermofluidic and interfacial phenomena, novel in situ and cryogenic electron and ion beam microscopy methods, and nanoengineering of functional surfaces with special wettability for a variety of applications.

Contact: konradr (at)

PhD Students


Viraj Damle

Viraj joined our group in Fall 2013. He finished Bachelors in Mechanical Engineering from Pune University in 2010. Further in 2012, he completed Master of Technology in Thermal Engineering from Indian Institute of Technology Madras. Viraj studied Sustainable Energy Systems in London South Bank University for which he was awarded with the Commonwealth Shared Scholarship. He is interested in Heat Transfer, Fluid Mechanics, Refrigeration and Energy.



Xiaoda Sun

Xiaoda joined our group in Fall 2013. He received master’s degree in mechanical engineering at University of Michigan, 2012 and Bachelor in thermal and power engineering at Univesity of Shanghai for Science and Technology in 2010. He is interested in nano/microscale transport, nano/microscale surfaces and electron microscopy.


Master Students


Gopala Akella

I have completed my Bachelors in Mechanical Engineering from Gitam, Andhra University in 2011 and consequently joined Hindustan Petroleum Corporation Limited as Projects & Operations Officer where I worked for two years. During my tenure I have handled Designing and execution of major pipeline projects for petroleum installation. My interests are Design engineering, nano engineered surface design and thermal engineering.


my photo

Shanliangzi Liu

Shanliangzi is a M.S. student in Materials Science & Engineering. She received her bachelor’s degree in Materials Molding & Control from Lanzhou University of Technology, China in 2013. She is interested in thermal systems and nano/microscale surfaces.




Ajay Roopesh

Ajay joined our group in Spring of 2014. He finished his Bachelor’s degree in Mechanical Engineering from SRM-Easwari Engineering College, Anna University. His interests are Thermal Engineering, Simulation of Thermal systems and Nano-engineering.



Abhishiktha Tummala

Abhishitktha joined our group in Fall of 2014. He completed Bachelors in Mechanical Engineering from Amrita University in 2014, I has joined ASU as a M.S. student in Mechanical Engineering in Fall 2014. His interests are in Thermal Engineering, Nano Scale Surface Treatment and Design.

Sriram Chandrashekar

Undergraduate Students

ASU Cruiser

Chris Schott

Chris joined our group in Fall 2014. He is a senior undergraduate Mechanical Engineering student at ASU and is a member of the Honors College. Chris’ interests include Heat Transfer and Fluid Mechanics.







Kyle Doudrick

Kyle worked with us from 2013 to 2014 as NSF/ASEE Small Business Postdoctoral Research Diversity Fellow. Currently he is an Assistant Professor at University of Notre Dame. You can find more information about Kyle on

Cassidee Kido

Cassidee joined the group for Summer 2014 while home in Phoenix. She is currently an undergraduate at Duke University studying to be an engineer.