## Executive Committee November 4, 2016

## MINUTES

Present: Ram Pendyala, Susan Squire, Ken Sullivan, Nadia Kellam, Samantha Brunhaver, Esma Gel, Arun Sen, Marcus Herrmann, Jit Muthuswamy, Andreas Spanias Absent: Greg Raupp, Brent Vernon, Cun-Zheng Ning

1. Minutes from the October, 2016 meeting. Meeting minutes were not approved. The EC Secretary will distribute via email.

ACTION ITEM: Formalize what a "quorum" for this group should be.

 <u>Dean's Dissertation Award Follow-up Discussion</u>. The EC had reviewed the applications and submitted recommendations to the dean. Ultimately 4 students received the Dean's Dissertation Award for this year. It was mentioned that more than one student per school should be eligible for the award. A better timeline will also be developed to provide more time for advertising the process and reviewing the nominations.

ACTION ITEM: Place on future EC agenda for further discussion on above items.

3. <u>Dean's Distinguished Lecture Speaker</u>. The EC needs to more aggressively work towards identifying a lecture speaker for April, 2017. The group will review/revise the current speaker list and submit any additional suggestions to the EC chair.

ACTION ITEM: Place on future EC agenda for further discussion.

4. <u>Faculty Evaluation Process Document</u>. The committee reviewed and revised the draft document during the meeting.

ACTION ITEM: The EC Chair will finalize draft and send to VDean, Marco Saraniti for review and follow-up with Dean.

5. <u>AFSE Assembly</u>. Finals details for the AFSE meeting being held on November 22, 2016 were discussed. A Parliamentarian will need to be identified.

ACTION ITEM: Annette will handle follow-up on the Parliamentarian. Marco Saraniti was chosen as Parliamentarian for the November 22<sup>nd</sup> meeting. A permanent Parliamentarian for the year will need to be identified by the dean.