Executive Committee Meeting Minutes Friday, September 28, 2018

Minutes

Present: Jitendran Muthuswamy (chair), George Pan, Greg Raupp, Samantha Brunhaver, Doug

Montgomery, Joohyung Lee, Rosa Krajmalnik-Brown, Susan Squire (Secretary)

Absent: Chris Buneo, Andreas Spanias, Tony Lamanna, Marcus Herrmann, Rod Roscoe

1. <u>Meeting Minutes Approval</u>. The EC approved the minutes of September 7, 2018.

- 2. <u>Dean's Dissertation Award</u>. The committee reviewed the scores submitted. A summary spreadsheet was sent to Dean Squires. Decisions are to be made by October 15, 2018.
- 3. Review and approval of the following:
 - a. FSE bylaws. The EC reviewed the changes that have been submitted for approval. Jit Muthuswamy will follow-up with Marco Saraniti regarding clarification on some of the changes.
 - b. **Promotion, tenure and retention of tenure-track faculty**. Revisions approved.
 - c. **Lecturer Criteria edits**. Minor changes approved, including a change from "additional years" to "seven years" for senior lecturer.
 - d. **Fixed Term Research Faculty Criteria edits**. Minor changes approved. Changed Dean's Faculty Advisory "Committee" to "Council".
- 4. <u>AFSE Meeting Oct. 26 at the BDI Auditorium</u>. EC members will coordinate a communication strategy between their directors and faculty to promote attendance.

Next meeting: Friday, November 2, 2018; 12-1 p.m.; BY 420