Meeting Minutes

Executive Committee of the AFSE April 7, 2023

Present: Xiao Wang (chair), Dianne Hansford (secretary),

Brian Atkinson, Nancy Cooke, Shenghan Guo, Hyunglae Lee, Pitu Mirchandan, Guoliang

Xue, Yanchao Zhang, Yong-Hang Zhang

Absent: Daniel Aukes, Rosa Krajmalnik-Brown, Heather Emady, Vikram Kodibagkar, Anthony

Lamanna,

Guest: Kelli Haren

1. Approval of minutes

Motion: Approve minutes from March 3, 2023. The motion was unanimously approved.

2. Dean's Dissertation Award

The EC reviewed scores for the spring 2023 nominations. Given that approximately 200 Ph.D. students will graduate, and the goal is to give an award to 5% of the students, the top four nominations will be sent to Dean Squires. (Six awards were given in fall semester.)

Motion (Pitu): Limit the length of the nomination letter to three pages. The motion was unanimously approved.

Motion (Pitu): Limit the length of the CV to four pages. The motion was unanimously approved.

Nancy suggested creating a rubric to make the comparisons of nominees easier. Dianne will share ideas suggested by Heather in the fall and the EC can consider this in the next award cycle.

3. Other items from EC members

Agenda items for the May meeting were discussed.

Next Meeting Friday, May 5, 2023 12:00 - 1:00pm in BYENG 660