Meeting Minutes

Executive Committee of the AFSE Nov 1, 2024

Present: Xiao Wang (chair), Dianne Hansford (secretary), Daniel Aukes, Nancy Cooke, Heather

Emady, Vikram Kodibagkar, Hyunglae Lee, Avi Wiezel, Guoliang Xue, Yanchao Zhang,

Brian Atkinson, Xiangyang Dong, Yong-Hang Zhang, Ted Pavlic

Absent: Treavor Boyer

Guest: Kelli Haren, Kyle Squires

1. Approval of minutes

Motion: Approve minutes from October 4, 2024. The motion was unanimously approved.

2. Dean's Dissertation Award

The EC discussed their scores and compiled a ranking of nominees for Kyle.

3. Dean's Distinguished Lecture

Daniel, Xiao, Treavor comprise a working group to target potential speakers.

The EC discussed the process for inviting potential speakers.

4. Other

The condition in which teaching faculty may chair graduate committees should be on the January agenda. Brian's program in Information Technology, where there is a doctoral program, needs resolution on this issue to serve students.

Dean's recommendation, director's decision, faculty governance in play in schools' policy. Service, teaching/mentoring, research workload weighting may play a role whether someone should be allowed to chair.

Asking to chair versus volunteering to chair should be addressed. Another idea is the role of mentor instead of chair.

Next Meeting

Friday, January 10, 2024 12:00 - 1:00 pm in BYENG 510