A whole-page pattern composed of repeatable content sections.

Dr. Zhuang is an assistant professor in the School for Engineering of Matter, Transport and Energy at ASU. He received his doctorate in materials science and engineering at Cornell University. Prior to ASU, Dr. Zhuang was a postdoctoral researcher at Princeton University. Dr. Zhuang’s current research interests are quantum simulations, machine learning, and quantum computing. Dr. Zhuang is a recipient of the NSF CAREER Award, Interstellar Initiative Early Career Investigator Award from The New York Academy of Sciences and Japan Agency for Medical Research and Development (AMED), American Chemical Society (ACS) Cadence/Openeye Outstanding Junior Faculty Award, Materials Today Rising Star Award, Talman Scholar Award of the 62nd Sanibel Symposium, and an invited participant of the 9th Arab-American Frontiers of Science, Engineering, and Medicine organized by the National Academy of Sciences. He is also a Scialog Fellow for Negative Emissions Science and a Fellow of the International Association of Advanced Materials.

Current students

PhD students: 

Yagnik Bandyopadhyay

Shengyinghao Chen

Xinyu Jiang (co-advised with Dr. Qiong Nian)

Nikhitha Poornabodha

Yu Liu (visiting student from Peking University)

Master students:

Anmol Verma

Undergraduate students:

Sanjivan Manicka (Barrett Honors Thesis student)

Matthew Ryan

High school students:

Harshil Avlani (SCENE student)

Sophia Lin (SCENE student)

Prisha Shroff (SCENE student)

Former group members

Brianna Ashcroft (FURI student)

Biplove Baral (FURI student)

Cristo Lopez (FURI student)

Emi Sohi (FURI student)

Deep Patel (Master student)

Elizabeth Pardhe (SCENE student)

Naomi Martinez Sinohui (SCENE student)

Kevin Coutinho (MORE student)

Parin Travedi (FURI student)

Payden Brown (Master student; First position: PhD student at MIT)

Dr. Arvind Ramachandran (PhD student; co-advised with Dr. Klaus Lackner; First position: Scientific Software Developer at OpenEye Scientific)

Dr. Lei Liu (PhD student; Dean’s Dissertation Award recipient; First position: Research Scientist at Facebook)

Dr. Duo Wang (PhD student; First position: Postdoctoral Researcher at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory)

Leah Repa (Physics Rotation PhD student)

Andrew Wasserbeck (Master student; co-advised with Dr. Christina Birkel; First position: Process Engineer at Intel)

Anirudh Dabir (Master student; First position: Product Support Engineer at ASM America)

Sneha Lakamsani (SCENE student; U.S. Stockholm Junior Water Prize recipient; Hamilton High School, Chandler, AZ)

Jonathan Zhang (SCENE student; Basis Peoria; currently an undergraduate student at UCSD)

Meghana Tripuraneni (SCENE student; Basha High School, Chandler, AZ)

Junxin Wang (visiting research assistant; currently a PhD student at Ohio State University)

Wenjiang Huang (MORE student; currently a PhD student at Virginia Tech)

Chance Price (FURI student; currently an undergraduate student at ASU)

Erik Eshima (currently an undergraduate student at ASU)

Eugene Agravante (FURI student)

Neha Basu (SCENE student; BASIS Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ; currently an undergraduate student at MIT)

Sritanay Vedartham (SCENE student; BASIS Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ; currently an undergraduate student at Cornell)

Joel Joseph (SCENE student; Mesquite High School, Gilbert, AZ; currently an undergraduate student at ASU)

Sreeharsha Lakamsani (SCENE student; Hamilton High School, Chandler, AZ; currently an undergraduate student at ASU)

Sameer Vij (SCENE student; Corona Del Sol High School, Tempe, AZ; currently an undergraduate stduent at Georgia Tech)

Immanuella Kankam (FURI and MORE student; currently a Process Engineer at Intel Corporation)

Pedro Martin (FURI student; currently a PhD student at the UC Irvine)