Seth Ariel Tongay



Seth Ariel Tongay is the chair and professor of Materials Science and Engineering at Arizona State University. Prior to his appointment at ASU, he completed his postdoctoral studies at the University of California, Berkeley in the Materials Science and Engineering Department with Prof. Dr. Junqiao Wu. He received his Ph.D. at the University of Florida in 2010 working with Distinguished Prof. Dr. Arthur F. Hebard.

His work focuses on the manufacturing of semiconductors, synthesis, and fundamental understanding of low-dimensional quantum materials. His team uses state-of-the-art manufacturing and characterization techniques to enable next-generation applications such as quantum information, energy conversion (catalysis, photovoltaics), and chemical engineering (desalination, purification, and gas separation). He has published more than 300 SCI-indexed research articles in prestigious journals such as Science and Nature. He currently has +300 ISI-index journal publications, an h-index of 75, and holds a number of key patents on quantum materials. His work received wide media coverage from Nature publications, Scientific American, MIT News, Science Daily,, and other media sources. Prof. Tongay also serves as an editorial member of AIP Applied Physics Review (impact factor 21) and more recently Nature Publishing Journal Nature 2D Materials and Applications. (Last updated:08/17/2023)

H Index: 75
Total Citation: >30,000
Global Citation Ranked in Materials Science and Engineering in the world
Highly Cited Researcher in 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022 & 2023
(Top 1% of most cited researchers in Engineering and Materials Science and Engineering; Thomson Reuters).

Google Scholar Profile


2023Top 5% Faculty Teaching Award (ASU)
2022Highly Cited Researcher Award by Web of Science Clarivate Analytics
2022Top 5% Faculty Teaching Award (ASU)
2021Highly Cited Researcher Award by Web of Science Clarivate Analytics
2021Lamonte H. Lawrence Professor in Solid State Sciences
2021Fulton School of Engineering Teaching Excellence Award
2021 Sigma Xi Full Member
2021 Fulton Impact Professorship Award
2020Top 5% Faculty Teaching Award (ASU)
2020Highly Cited Researchers of 2020 by Web of Science and Clarivate Analytics
2019Presidential Early Career Awards in Sciences and Engineering (PECASE) award
2019Highly Cited Researchers of 2019 by Web of Science and Clarivate Analytics
2019Ten Outstanding Young Persons of the World – Academic Leadership and Accomplishment
2019Top 5% Faculty Teaching Award (ASU)
2019World Nobel Laureates Association -Young Scientists Winner
2018Top 5% Faculty Teaching Award (ASU)
2017Ira. A. Fulton Outstanding Assistant Professor Award (ASU)
2017Outstanding Reviewer Award by Chemistry of Materials (impact factor:10)
2017Top 5% Faculty Teaching Award (ASU)
2016Early Career Awards for Sciences and Engineering (CAREER) Award
2016Top 5% Faculty Teaching Award (ASU)
2016The Scientist of the Year Award by Turkish Science Foundation
2016French National Institute Applied Sciences Researcher Award
2015Top 5% Engineering Faculty Teaching Award (ASU)
2010Tom Scott Memorial Award (Most innovative dissertation award at Florida)
2002Summa Cum Laude (Top rank student award)
2002-2004Bilkent University Broad of Directors Fellowship (Bilkent)
1998-2002Presidential awards for distinguished undergraduate students (Aegean)


  • Postdoctoral Fellow, University of California, Berkeley
  • Ph.D. University of Florida 2010